Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-04-01 - 4:05

Twenty-three minutes

It was another quiet day around the house. Colin popped over and played around a bit on my electric before we went CD shopping. I didn't exactly remember where CD Warehouse was, but we eventually found it . . . only to find out that it was closed out for good. Not willing to quit emptyhanded, we went downtown to Record Runner, the best store in town.

I ended up snagging NOFX's Punk in Drublic (I couldn't resist the title), a Yo La Tengo single, and more Palace Music. I also found out that Mick Turner, of the Dirty Three, has a solo album. It's not bad; but I've only given it one listen so far. More instrumental work in the vein of the Dirty Three, but lacking Warren's manic touch.

My main purchase was the classic debut by Suicide. I've been interested in this band since I first heard the Rollins Band version of "Ghost Rider." What a beautiful, noisy album. The highlight is the bonus disc that includes the band's entire 23 minute Brussels concert from 1978, feauturing the ugliest crowd reaction that I've ever heard. The concert ended in a riot; and it's an amazing live recording.

Not too much else was on the go today; it was mostly new tunage and more Black & White. Oh, and I bought a couple of Ozzfest tickets. I'm already looking forward to seeing the mighty Sabbath again.

J.

[prev] -209- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]