Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-06-12 - 1:37

Picking beans with grandma

Today was one of my most productive at work. I'll admit that I do slack off every once in a while; but left on my own, I'll get the job done. The relaxed attitude that comes from working with such a small, friendly team definitely helps my work (and helps me to enjoy my work).

Today, for example, I slept in fairly late before hooking up with Greg. Then we hammered away at some testing, which was very fun. Since the two of us genuinely enjoy what we're doing and we get a lot of laughs out of working together, I have such positive feeling about the job.

For the rest of the day, we got a lot done, but we also took a couple of breaks to just chill out. After we wrapped up all that we wanted to work on together today, I took home the results to write a report for the team in California--a report that I ended up starting around 11:00 tonight and finishing around 12:30.

It's too cool having a job like this, especially when I compare it to how I was feeling for my last two months at my old job. Even then, I was working with very talented people who I respected a lot and I was proud of the work that I was doing. However, the mood had definitely gone sour near the end, as it was obvious that they didn't want to maintain the workforce.

(Okay, six people left your group and you know new guys who would easily fit in . . . but, nah, we're not hiring. Instead of having three guys on your project, now it's just you. Oh, and we want a major change ready by next month.)

So, I'm very happy with the new job and I love the flexibility. Sure, I might sleep in one morning, but I might also do an hour's work after taking a nap on the couch, which works out well for me and the company.

Yes, sleep is today's running theme for some reason. I guess that I'm still getting myself on schedule after the weekend.

Today was also notable as new CD day, with my latest CDNow shipment arriving. I listened to a couple of the hip hop discs: The Shape Shifters and Deep Puddle Dynamics. (I'm still on my Anticon kick.) Very cool, unique music. My order as a whole was rather eclectic--I still have Cornelius, Cat Power, Half Japanese, and Suicide to crank through this week.

I'd be able to get through some tunage now if my discman wasn't on its last legs. One of these days, I may have to break down and buy a new one.

J.

[prev] -257- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]