Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-07-02 - 4:24

Bratwurst

Canada Day was spent with the same crew of 10 from yesterday, so the laughs kept coming. In the morning, we also hooked up with a few more people, including Ian, who remains ever-grateful for being able to snag my extra ticket for last summer's RHCP/STP/Fishbone concert.

After that, we chilled at Greg's for a while, waiting for everyone to be ready to head downtown. The wait time proved interesting, as I surprised myself by deciding to let Kelly give me a mohawk. I'm not completely sure where that decision came from, but I'm very happy with it.

Greg was planning on buzzing his hair and I asked if anyone would agree to shave their head if I did mine. Nobody took that challenge, but Mike suggested a mohawk and, after a moment's thought, I went for it. Kelly did a great job with the clippers (although I think she was afraid that I was going to regret my decision) and I took the Mach 3 to the stubble (with some assistance from Greg).

I really should have pictures online when I tell stories like this, but I'm too tired to add them to my home page now. The haircut was certainly well covered by this weekend's camerawork, though, so pictures will be available soon.

After that silliness was taken care of, we rounded up everyone and made our way downtown. We didn't have a plan, other than walking around, finding a pub or two, and checking out the sights. On the topic of sights, I think that the City of Ottawa imports girls by the truckload for Canada Day. Wow!

Unfortunately for the well-attired girls and us, the weather did not cooperate at all. It didn't rain this year, but it was easily the coldest day in over a month. I never would have expected those temperatures from July 1, especially with our recent heat.

Eventually, we all wimped out and decided to make our way back to Greg's. When the main appeal is the company, though, it doesn't really matter when plans go awry. General silliness kept everyone amused on the way home and it was cool to chill there for the rest of the night.

It's too bad that everyone who came to visit can't stay longer; and it would have been nice to have a real summer day today. There's no way to feel let down by the Canada Day weekend, though--I had a blast with some very cool people and I have a new Reverend Maynard-esque haircut to show for it. Life is good, eh.

J.

[prev] -270- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]