Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-07-12 - 2:41

Oh, the hammock district

Today was another good one at work. The back rooms have a lower ceiling that you can climb on from the very back of our place. (We were scrambling around on it while doing the wiring.) Today, I went through with my plan to string up a hammock on top of that ceiling. Now I just need to buy a rope ladder so I can climb up there for a break and pull the ladder up behind me.

Is that a cool office or what? The worst part of the whole affair is that we didn't buy rope to tie it to the rafters--we used Cat 3 cabling. So very geek.

Apart from that, I did get some actual work done. I'm having a lot of fun in there lately. Working with friends, it feels more like a school project than a job. I keep being surprised at how quickly the time goes. I'll think it's 4:30 and it'll really be 6:30.

My schedule is definitely a far cry from my days at the old job. No more early mornings and early departures. Since we hardly ever all get together for supper at home these days, I'm less inclined to come back early, anyway. And with summer in full swing, I can leave late and still see lots of daylight.

I've also cut my travel time compared to the old job. It's now a 12 minute walk to work and Greg gives me a ride most mornings, anyway. Admittedly, I spend as much time waiting for him to show up as I would walking, anyway; but it's more sociable this way.

I haven't gone completely soft, though . . . I do still get a fair amount of walking in my day. I should come up with more to do at night, though. With the schedule that I'm on, I'm still energetic late at night; but I usually squander that energy. At least tonight I did get outside for a while.

With the way that time is flying by, it won't feel like long before I get a chance to expend my energy at the two-concert-festivals-in-three-days Toronto trip. That's only a week and a half away now; and I'm definitely going to be psyched. I put on The Roots live album a couple of nights back . . . oh yes, I will be psyched.

Homer: Sir, I need to know where I can get some business hammocks.
Hank: Hammocks? My goodness, what an idea. Why didn't I think of that? Hammocks!

Swing low, sweet chariot.

J.

[prev] -276- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]