Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-07-13 - 1:41

Get on up

I had almost forgotten; but this afternoon, I recalled who was in town tonight . . . James Brown! It had to be done.

Colin already had plans to go, so I went with him and Jaclyn's brother. We were a little late making it to Lebreton Flats; but we had time to grab a bite to eat and work our way through the audience.

Crowd negotiation was a struggle, because the entire middle section of the field was taken up with lawn chairs. It actually wasn't until a few songs in that I was satisfied with our position.

As for the concert itself, what do I really need to explain? I can't say that there was ever a time in my life when I said that I'd be seeing James Brown live someday; but now it happened. Very cool.

Probably the most impressive element of the show is how tight the band is as a unit. Considering the size of the band and the fact that so many songs stretched into jams, they deserve a lot of credit for their cohesiveness. A few songs late in the set also showcased strong individual musicianship, as well as the excellent vocals of one of the backup singers.

As for the man himself, James is every bit as strong as I expected. He must have been amazing to experience when he was in his prime.

The obvious highlight of the concert was the extended rendition of "Sex Machine" that closed the show. I was also happy to hear "The Payback" in the mix, even in an abbreviated form.

All in all, it was simply a fun concert and I had a very good time. Plus, it was cool to see Flett again (and Jaclyn very briefly). I can also testify that I'll be ready for Area: One and Ozzfest in a week and a half. Tonight simply whetted my appetite for the outdoor festivals.

J.

[prev] -277- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]