Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-07-16 - 2:46

Fakebook

Still not a lot of excitement on the go these days. Nothing to top James Brown, at least. The most notable accomplishment this weekend was finally managing to get enough roommates together to go for groceries. (At the rate that we were going, I was getting even skinnier.) I think we have a new store of choice, since a 24-hour grocery store finally opened near us.

Since I'm lacking the news for a standard entry, I'll go for point form informative style tonight:

User name: Stolen from Groo the Wanderer, a hilarious comic that I collected for many years, until Sergio Aragon�s ended it. ("I am the Prince of Chichester.")

Site title: Stolen from Friedrich Nietzsche. It's actually one of his few books that I haven't read; but what a title.

Site graphics: Stolen from Einst�rzende Neubauten. The man/sun symbol is the logo for the incomparable musical act, who I had the privilege of witnessing in New York City a year ago. (I did at least play with the effects myself, after stealing a plainer version of the logo.)

Online journal that inspired me to start my own: Jennie's In Further News, which migrated to Somabish, which was (temporarily?) bumped to Malaria.

Inagural member of the Diaryland mutual admiration society: Cnnlly was the first person to write to me about this journal and I quickly became a fan of her journal, as well.

Most amusing addition to my journal list: The Mystery Files of Casper Woo is a very fun read (well, when he's not being burglarized, of course).

My home page: Jambalaya.


Number of times that I've moved: 8.

Number of moves that were between the Halifax and Ottawa areas: 7. (The other was from my home town outside of Halifax into Halifax).

My take on a co-op university program: It's a great system; but moving every four months gets somewhat painful. I'm happy to have ended up in Ottawa, though.

Where I think my next move might be: California (but the likelihood dropped when my friend Liam moved from there.)

Number of different roommates, after all those moves: 18.

Number of former roommates who hate me: 1.

17 for 18: Not a bad batting average. (Besides, even Maggie has that baby with the one eyebrow.)


Number of CDs I own: 668 titles.

Rank of CD purchases in my spending last year: 3rd, behind student loan (all paid off now) and rent (which was not ahead by much).

Number of concerts I've seen: 28, plus 3 Henry Rollins spoken word shows.

Number of times that I've travelled to a city just for a show: 15. Ottawa to Toronto: 3 times by bus, 3 times by car; Ottawa to Montreal: 4 times by car; Halifax to Toronto: 1 time by air; Ottawa to New York City: 1 time by air, L.A. to San Diego: 1 time by car; Ottawa to San Francisco: 1 time by air; and Ottawa to Halifax: 1 time by air.

Bands I still need to see live: Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds (coming this fall), Yo La Tengo (I just missed them), Takako Minekawa (fairly unlikely).

My one passion in life: Music.

My own musical abilities: I've been known to fake my way through a Violent Femmes song or two on guitar.


Number of real relationships in my life: 1.

Number of momentary diversions since that ended: 1.

Mood: Discouraged.

Alternate spin: A near-total lack of responsibility and accountability does make it easier to do things like flying to Philly on a whim to hunt for a ticket to the NBA Finals.

Mood after that reasoning: Approximately equally discouraged.

Looking to find: A girl with Einst�rzende Neubauten earrings. (I know there's at least one out there . . . okay, that girl was in San Francisco, but even still . . . heh.)


Usual schedule: Too late.

Tonight's schedule: Too late.

Response: Quit writing in this journal, read some more of Last Exit to Brooklyn, and go to bed.

J.

[prev] -278- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]