Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-07-18 - 1:36

Drag queens at the pavilion

Yesterday's highlight was meeting Greg's parents and going to supper with the clan. Wow. They truly are as kooky as advertised. Heheheh. I can honestly say that I've never met anyone's parents who carry out the same type of half-clever, half-ridiculous, always funny conversations that I have with people like Greg. I got the impression that any topic would be fair game for an overanalyzed, exaggerated argument taking it to its comic essence. Very cool.

Today's surprise was that I found out that the tentative October 1 Montreal appearance by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds has been confirmed. It's a lucky fact that Greg inadvertently reminded me of the Rowland S. Howard story about working with Einst�rzende Neubauten while they had contact mics on a hungry dog. While searching for that tale on the Mute web site, I noticed that the Cave Montreal tickets were already on sale.

So, after quickly conferring with the crew, I ordered four tickets. Greg, Aaron, and Colin are all in for that concert. If I find anybody else who wants to go, we can order more tickets later; I was just making sure that I had mine, so that they wouldn't sell out.

In other good news, I also discovered on Mute that Anita Lane has a second album hitting the shelves in September. Very cool! More songs of lust, I'm sure, with Mick Harvey adding his formidable musical abilities to Anita's beautiful vocals.

Work is definitely staying busy lately. The boss seemed to be rather stressed out today, when we talked on the phone. (He's been away from the office so far this week.) I went back after supper tonight (another tasty barbecue) to get some more work done. If there's a rush to produce, I can really only do what I can right now; from Sunday to Tuesday, I'll be in Toronto for the music festivals.

Actually, I enjoyed getting out of the house tonight. Working has a different feel to it when you're by yourself and you have music playing. (I brought some speakers in for the lab.) And it's a good break to get away from people now and then. On the walk home, I stopped in the park and laid down with my head against a tree and Bonnie "Prince" Billy on the headphones. Cool air, the night sky, an absence of people . . . very nice. I didn't come inside until I finished listening to the CD.

So, I have my Cave tickets, work is moving along decently well, the Toronto excursion is fast approaching, and Miss Punkie loves me . . . what more could I ask?

J.

P.S. If you're curious about Neubauten and the dog, that story is part of the write-up for These Immortal Souls. I just thought that I'd add that link, because if I was a reader, that's what I would have found interesting this time. Heh.

[prev] -279- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]