Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-08-14 - 1:20

Picture it

In the span of a month, I realized that I'm going blind and bald. That's a rough stretch, considering that I'm only 24. Heh. Anyway, I'm definitely enjoying my shaved head. It's certainly a time saver and I think that it suits me. As for the whole blindness issue (well, I exaggerate slightly), my vision care coverage just kicked in at work, so it's about time to get some glasses.

Today was straightforward. I worked fairly late, we went for groceries when I got home, and Nick and I had a little barbecue. Even though I think about moving out on my own, I definitely enjoy chilling out with Nick and Aaron.

I played around on my home page tonight and added pictures from my trip home. I got a few nice pictures of my mother's garden (the butterflies are particularly cool), a few of my family, and some shots of downtown Halifax that I'm happy with. Of course, it means something to me looking at the corner of Gottingen and Cunard, which is a few blocks from where I last lived in Halifax.

Actually, every time that I lived in Halifax, I spent some time walking around that area. While I was home, I also spent some time by the waterfront and in the Public Gardens. All were cool to see again. It definitely takes me back. Even though I couldn't see myself living there now instead of here, I do miss the city.

With all my work terms taking me to Ottawa, I was always in Halifax for four month stints, and I have a lot of positive memories for each. The summer of '98, I met a lot of cool people; and living away from home was still somewhat of a novelty. When I came back at the start of '99, I was in love, so that was an interesting time.

For my last stay in the city, I shared a tiny apartment with Nick, after spending all of September looking for a place and crashing with my brother. Despite a lack of space or money, that was one of my happiest times. I felt very much in control, finally about to finish school, with a cool job lined up. (Who knew that it would only last a year?)

I just decided to enjoy myself and have a fun time seeing that ride come to an end. It was interesting hanging out with people who I wasn't likely to see after school ended; although I'm lucky that the two friends who I spent the most time with then, Nick and Colin, both ended up in Ottawa.

I look back on a time when I was sharing an apartment barely bigger than my current living room and when I was flat broke by December and think that it was one of the happiest times of my life. I guess that it was all about my attitude at the time. Not that I've gotten sour now or anything (life is still good); but it was just a very comfortable, relaxed environment.

Ehh . . . this is what happens when I spend my night organizing my pictures. All that I need to say is that it was cool to go home again and I got a few funky pictures out of the deal. Check 'em out if you're interested. Good enough.

J.

[prev] -292- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]