Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-12-22 - 22:24

Beware the wreath of Khan

Admittedly, 10:00 is early for me to be making an entry; but I'm adjusting my schedule for the holidays. My flight leaves at 6:40 AM; and, while I still need to pack my clothes and CDs, amazingly enough, I have taken care of everything else. Three loads of laundry are done, my room is organized for the first time in ages (which helps for packing), and I even managed to pick up another Christmas gift tonight. (Yes, that still leaves me with one to go; but that's what Christmas Eve is for.)

So, today was productive; but it was also very relaxing. It's like I got to turn off a switch when I left work yesterday and, after two fairly busy weeks, I can completely forget about work for a long time. And I have.

I'll break my deliberate forgetfulness to mention that everything went really well yesterday. I went in late and left at a reasonable time; and it wasn't a stressful day, by any means. I wrapped up what I was hoping to complete; and I think that the boss and I are both content. We chatted for a bit before I took off; and we both agree that we're much happier than we were going into last year's Christmas break.

Of course, last year, we were each on the verge of quitting (had the company not beaten us to the punch), so perhaps that isn't the highest standard to surpass. However you measure it, though, the new job is great. Although it was slow getting going, it was interesting starting from scratch, putting an office together, and getting two more friends working with us. We've definitely moved along quite well from the days when I was taking a cab to Dr. J's house to work from his basement. Heheh.

Today, as I said, all thoughts of work were gone, as they should be. Apart from getting things ready for my trip home, I also got together with Colin for the first time since we saw The Dears at Barrymore's. (It's too bad that he missed their headlining show two weeks ago.) Colin, Frank, and I went out for supper, followed by a (thankfully brief) stop at the mall, where I secured the aforementioned Christmas gift.

All is good. I'm definitely looking forward to taking my trip home. As usual, I doubt that I'll be adding any entries while I'm away. (It would not break my heart too greatly to not see a computer for a week and a half.) So, if I don't write anything else before tomorrow morning, this will likely be it for the year. If it is, happy holidays to everyone--I'll be back on the 1st.

J.

[prev] -380- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]