Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-03-26 - 0:45

Prise out my love

Speaking of mid-90s CDs, I just discovered that Sam Ireland, the former lead singer from Die Cheerleader, is still going strong with John Wayne Army. I always wondered what had happened to DC. After all, Henry Rollins was supposed to be mowing their lawns when they were rich and famous (so he said); and their one album was great. (I used to play them on my radio show at university.)

John Wayne Army is a far cry from the overt heaviness of Die Cheerleader; but wow! I hesitate to describe them, out of fear of not doing them justice; but the entire Night Without End CD is available online, so give it a listen, if you're interested. I've already got the CD on order.

Apart from that discovery, the weekend was standard but enjoyable. After four weeks off, the Sunday gathering at Greg's was back on, which was good for a lot of fun.

I have reluctantly had to rescind my claims that winter was on the way out. Ah well. If I'm going to have Leonard Cohen on the headphones as I walk to work, it feels right that there be snow on the ground. Then again, perhaps Cohen isn't the best choice for me these days. Ehh . . . that's another story. (While I'm on the subject, though, Lost Blues is also rather bleak, although I may have already told you that when I was in a similar mood.)

I haven't shaved (face or head) in about a week and a half. At first, it was laziness. Now I think that I may go with it. The first time that I shaved my head, I let everything grow for about three months, which was comically scruffy. I'm not sure if I have as much devotion to silliness now; but anything that saves me two minutes in the morning can't be all bad.

J.

[prev] -427- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]