Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-05-03 - 1:14

Avant-garden of Eden

Okay, I think that I am finally straightened out after all of my recent running around. Work has been fairly enjoyable, although today was the first day this week that I got out at a reasonably early time.

I met with someone at the bank today to talk about getting pre-approved for a mortgage. She essentially told me to hammer down, so I guess that it's time to start looking for a house seriously. I think that this is the summer that the townhouse era will come to an end.

Actually, I suspect that we'll all be going our separate ways. Aaron and Loralei will probably be looking for their own place soon; when Nick gets back tomorrow, maybe he'll have a better idea of whether he's off to Florida; and I guess that Frankie will find something if everyone else goes.

After some indecision, my mind is made up now that I do want to buy a house. If I don't have one by the end of the summer, it'll be because I couldn't find one, not because I didn't want one. It's still a somewhat intimidating thought and I'm sure that it would feel odd to have my own place after so long living with a few roommates; but it would also be pretty cool. It should be interesting to see how it shakes down.

Hmm, I think that I put off writing about a few things recently, since I was just trying to keep up with documenting my hockey game and concert outings. Ah yes, I should mention that the Sage Francis CD Personal Journals is possibly the best album that I have heard yet this year. I listened to it twice on the first bus ride to Montreal last week and I've been listening to it every day since then. The album certainly deserves its title, given Sage's complicated, personal lyrics; and the Anticon production is very strong. (Actually, I have that CD playing now and I have to say that "Eviction Notice" is one disturbing, menacing song.)

Speaking of Anticon, Sole is on tour now and he's coming to Montreal later this month. I'll have to think about that one. I don't really know much about his tourmates, Passage and Restiform Bodies; but I really enjoyed his Bottle of Humans CD. Oh, and apparently Buck 65 and Sixtoo were in Montreal tonight; but I was a little late in hearing about that. Actually, I may have skipped that show, anyway, for the break. Hopefully, Buck will put out his new album soon and make his return to Ottawa.

Other Montreal bus discoveries that I forgot to mention: I had to discard my theory that each late night Montreal to Ottawa bus has one painfully beautiful girl on it. Given the bus demographics, naturally there are usually a few cute girls (purple-haired Montreal punk girls, even); but the streak of over-the-top beauties came to an end after Game 4.

Oh, and I also forgot to mention that Aaron got me the Exploding Dog book, Wish for Something Better. Very cool! That's a quirky little book (you can breeze through it in no time) that suited me perfectly. It was definitely a funky surprise when I got home from from my first Montreal trip.

I am a moon monster.

J.

[prev] -452- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]