Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-05-06 - 1:58

Alone and forsaken

I don't recall anything of great interest from Saturday, apart from watching Pee-Wee's Big Adventure again. The classics never die. I'm sure that it was a good, relaxing day; but I just don't recall exactly how.

Today was a lot of fun. All five of us from the townhouse went for a nice walk around Gatineau Park this afternoon. That was the first time that I've been out there this year and it was great to hike around and scramble over some rocks. (True to form, I skinned my knee on one climb. There's something to be said for consistency, I guess.) I took a few nice pictures and Aaron's camera was also in action.

After that we grabbed some ice cream and went home for a barbecue. I'd have to say that my steak tonight turned out better than the one I grilled two weeks back. It's good to see the barbecue getting lots of use.

Actually, it's cool to be able to get everyone together, regardless of what shakes down. Last summer, Aaron spent the first two months in Houston and Ray did his own thing a lot of the time, so it was rare to even have all of the roommates together for supper, let alone any excursions.

After supper, I caught the Habs victory over Carolina. If Montreal advances, whether they play Ottawa or Toronto, I'll be able to feud with someone, so that should be fun.

I popped out again briefly tonight to drop the leases and rent cheques off at the landlord's place. Winter kept making comebacks here lately; but considering how nice it was when I was walking tonight, I'm saying that summer is here for real now. Oh, and since I managed to steer clear of the skunk that I saw on the way back, all was good.

I've had some other things on my mind this weekend; but I'm not sure how much I want to get into them here tonight. I finally reached some conclusions that were fairly inevitable and that I had essentially accepted already, without explicitly thinking them through. Hmm . . . yeah, I'm going to be hopelessly vague with this one. Well, I'll just say that my reaction to one event made it clear to me what was missing somewhere else; and that contrast helped me come to a few realizations.

Okay, to end on a less nebulous note, here's a discovery from Friday. One of Greg's bits is that he wants to be recognized well enough at a pub that he doesn't need to order--he can just walk in and have his Guinness appear. It took a little while; but that is starting to be true at Darcy's, our regular Friday haunt.

I've just fulfilled my equivalent of that desire. When I went to the post office on Friday, the girl didn't even take my card--she just went to the back and came out with a box of CDs. Heheh. I thought that I had really cut back my ordering, compared to when I first moved here; but apparently, I still show up there semi-frequently.

As an aside, the main CD that I picked up was the new Buffalo Daughter, which I'm enjoying. It's definitely worth getting the import version, though--the last song, simplistic as it is, has quite the groove to it. I defy you to put that on the headphones when you're walking around at night and not have a little extra bounce in your step.

Remember: there's only one thing to do in a situation like this . . . strut.

J.

[prev] -453- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]