Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-05-09 - 0:38

How we get along

Who wants to go to Montreal with me next month to see Beth Orton? Hey, you could even buy me the ticket and call it a day-early birthday present. Well . . . okay, I suppose that I don't really need anyone to buy me a $17.50 ticket; but you can still let me know if you want to go.

I'll be making some other concert travel plans in the next couple of days. Aaron is keen on hitting New York in August to see Area: Two and the Smokin' Grooves tour in one weekend. SG has The Roots and Jurassic 5 on one bill, which was enough to have me interested, even before considering DJ Shadow and OutKast. Okay, it also has Lauryn Hill; but there's always a trade-off in life.

That would be a cool road trip, so it will probably be a plan that we go with. My only hesitation now is that there was some talk that SG would come to Toronto, which would be an easier trip. Also, the New York excursion would require a day off, whereas my initial plan to catch Area: Two in Toronto would have coincided with the civic holiday in August. So, if they announce a Toronto stop for Smokin' Grooves in the next day or two, maybe I'll reconsider; but New York is the current thought.

Either I'm getting old or the week of three Montreal trips and one Toronto trip wore me out, because when Aaron mentioned the idea, I wasn't initially psyched on the thought of hitting the road. Of course, I know that I would be psyched by August; but as for my first reaction . . . bleh. Actually, even now, the more that I think about it, the more keen I am on the concept, so I guess that I haven't gotten that old yet.

Oh, and I'll probably also have other August travel plans in the works, since Cornelius is supposed to be announcing a North American tour soon. If you have a decent connection and a few minutes, go to the Matador video section and check out the videos from his new album. ("Drop" is particularly cool.)

Hmm . . . between concert outings and the quest for a house, it could be an interesting summer.

J.

[prev] -455- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]