Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-05-22 - 1:56

Sunset is an all day process

I had been planning to extend June's Montreal trip, since Clouddead is playing Sunday, after Beth Orton's Saturday show. As it turns out, though, Clouddead is hitting Ottawa on the Monday; so, it looks like I'll get to come back here for my birthday, after all. Bonus.

Ottawa can be rather weak for live music sometimes, so that was a nice surprise. Yes, we have had Fishbone and Buck 65 and The Dears and the (International) Noise Conspiracy in the past half year or so; but it's still a tepid concert scene for a city of a million people.

I'm somewhat puzzled as to what Clouddead will sound like live. When I listen to their CD, with its layered, abstract vocals and distant, minimalist production, the live experience is not first in my mind. I'm quite curious to hear how it translates.

I'm also wondering what Dose will sound like with Boom Bip. I like a lot of Dose's work; but I haven't heard his album with Boom Bip. Maybe I can get my hands on it before they roll into town.

Now I just need Sage Francis to tour.

J.

[prev] -461- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]