Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-05-27 - 2:07

Watch out for that pig

It was another downright summery Sunday, which was met appropriately with a five-steak evening. (For those who need clarification, all five of us were here today--it wasn't me eating five steaks. Disappointing, I know; but you can see how it is. I mean, I have mortgage payments to save for and all . . . money's too tight for five steaks.)

So, that made for another fun day. The patio set that Aaron and Loralei picked up is great. Sitting outside and going to work on some steak--damn fine steak, if I do say so myself--kicks ass. I should steal the table and chairs from them when I go.

After supper, Aaron, Loralei, and I went for a drive-by of my future home (of course, complete with the musical accompaniment of Henrietta Collins "Drive-by Shooting.") Here's a picture of what is to become Chichester Land. There's also a garage to the left and a nice backyard; but that picture gives some idea of what the place is like.

Oh, and the current owners had a sign up, advertizing some of their furniture for sale. Maybe I can save a few bucks and snag some of their gear. I did think that the leather couch was looking snazzy. I'll have to eyeball the rest of the lot when I go for the home inspection on Wednesday. Maybe if I'm really lucky, I can get them to sweeten the deal by including that reclining pig from their front lawn. (A man can always dream.)

I hope to hear back from the bank in a day or two, with approval for the mortgage. Once that comes in and assuming that the inspection doesn't reveal any major flaws, I'll remove the conditions from my conditional offer and it'll be bingo-bango, sugar in the gas tank. Very cool.

In a way, I can't wait to move in, since I'm psyched about having found a house. Of course, it'll also be odd to leave here after two and a half years. The contrast between sharing this townhouse and having my own place will be sharp. On the whole, though, I expect that it will be great.

And in the meantime, it should be a fun couple of months running out the clock here with this crew.

J.

[prev] -465- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]