Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-12-12 - 2:26

Young woman, share your fire with me

I got together with the former townhouse cronies for supper tonight, which was fun. That was the first time that I saw Oak since he moved back to the city. Hearing his wonderfully unmitigated cynicism helped me maintain my faith that there are comforting constants in the world.

Why it takes five months to get together with people who live just down the street is another story. I do seem to recall being told once or twice in my life that I'm rather slack. There may be a correlation.

It seems that I made the right job decision two years ago, when I was laid off. (Not that I truly had second thoughts.) Today, the other company that had presented me with a solid offer at the time laid off another batch, including most of the people who I knew there. At least I'm hanging in where I am, for now. And having fun, of course.

I've gotten back into the habit of playing guitar for a little while after work. To meet my goal of someday progressing to the point of mediocrity, I suppose that I'll need to actually practice.

I've also been catching up on the archived video of Einst�rzende Neubauten studio work. (You might recall that I signed up on their web site for access to their current recording sessions.) It's quite interesting to see the album unfolding. I do wonder about any upcoming tours, though. If they're going to recreate the full studio sound, are they going to have to carry a blowtorch with them? I would imagine that they have enough trouble crossing borders, as it is.

J.

[prev] -552- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]