Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-06-03 - 2:49

Nothing to sneeze at

Wow, I haven't updated this journal in more than a week. That omission is mainly due to the fact that my usual routine has been pushed aside lately . . . which is most certainly a good thing.

Let's see. Hmm. Work was relatively mellow last week, although I did get in a good fight with the boss on Friday. Much like beating up the Irish on Whacking Day, though, 'twas all in good fun.

I hear that Sage Francis signed to Epitaph the other day. Maybe they'll make him tour more often. I'd love to see him live someday.

In my latest CD shipment, I picked up Brother Ali's debut CD, which is very strong. That definitely takes me back to the Atmosphere concert last year, which still ranks among my favourite in recent memory.

Oh, on the topic of concerts, I finally posted reviews from the two concerts that I saw at the end of . . . umm . . . April. Yes, yes, I've been slack. I've had something partially written for a while, though, so hopefully the writing didn't suffer too much from the delay. If you're interested, the reviews are for Buck 65 and Melon Galia.

Now I just need to recap the Chili Peppers concert and the Stephen Malkmus gig. As long as I fire those off in the next week or so, I'll be prepared for the concert season to pick up again.

Actually, I'm quite anticipating a good month. I have Ozzy on the 12th, The Dears on the 13th, then the trip to Boston that weekend, including Rollins on the 15th, with Nick Cave on the 22nd. The folks are also planning to roll through town the week following that, making their way to a wedding in Toronto that I may be attending. And I also have a birthday around the corner, which should be fun. (And which also may coincide with Game 7, if the Devils and Ducks battle that far.)

That schedule combined with the great mood that I have (justifiably) been in as of late equals little cause for complaint.

J.

[prev] -616- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]